Ginger Chicken Shitake Mushroom Stirfry

9 Jan

It’s been a while since I have been posting blogs . I’d like to say that I was doing something super fantastic, like traveling around the world eating all kinds of food or something of that dramatic nature. But, alas, I was not.
Fact is that I noticed an increasing correlation between my frequent posts and my increasing waistline. In and attempt to get that in check I made the somewhat unconscious decision to put my blog on hold until I could sort out how to do this and still fit in to those damn jeans.
Those jeans are still are not fitting yet, but as of last month I started back at the gym and I have been very good about with my from all the food groups and getting my meals made ahead of time. That for me is the challenge. I love making food that I know is good, and when it is good for me, I don’t want to think about it too much. I like things that make a dish easily exciting or different without having to have labored too hard over a sauce or something of that nature.

Today I made my dinner…..and I forgot to take a picture of it. What I made was a simple stir fry starting with about a 1/4 cup of kielbasa that I brown in a pan and let some of the fat render out of. I then removed the browned meat and then add to the pan dried shitake mushrooms that were rehydrate in the microwave with a 1/2 cup of chicken stock. Along with the mushroom mixture I added 1/4 cup chopped fresh ginger, a tablespoon each of cooking sake, and soy sauce and a dash of sesame oil. I cooked the for about 2 or so minutes to let some of flavors marry and the liquid to cook down. When there was about 2 tablespoons of liquid left I added back the kielbasa and along with about a teaspoon of fresh red chilli. I like the flavor and the heat it brings. It’s a nice visible red contrast when making stir fry’s as well.
My whole dinner consisted of a 2 cups spinach salad with a nice olive oil and a pinch of kosher salt for dressing, glass of orange juice, and pack instant miso soup. I ate it all up and it was good. Miso soup is such a nice thing on a cold day. Warms up my insides!
After dinner was complete I realized that I would have to make sure that I had something for lunch tomorrow. Since I had only made enough for dinner, I was looking at trying to figure out what to do for the next day. I usually make two helpings so that I have enough for the next day. So I made pretty much the same stir fry with almost all the ingredients only switching out chicken for the kielbasa. Since chicken come with the all those ready packed in spices and smokey flavors as well prepackaged oil. I added a tablespoon of Canola oil to the pan and cooked up one chopped small/medium sized shallot on medium heat until they were glassy, then added the mushrooms, chicken stock, fresh ginger, sake, soy sauce, sesame oil. I only that that cook for a minute before added the raw chicken. I cooked until the chicken was done then did my best to get all the chicken to the side of the pan to cook down the sauce as much as possible. Once it was about 2 tablespoons or so, I removed it from the heat and let cool. I still had to add it to my lunch box and since the box also had salad in it I need to take care not to wilt my precious spinach salad or deliciously yummy Honey Crisp apples(Love them!).
I am feeling good at the moment with concern to my somewhat shrinking waistline and the diet of food I have chosen. Being that this is the season of eating and I also have still unopened gifted pound of See’s chocolate in my desk I think that I am doing really well. I will work harder now to get more posts out. It so much fun to cook and I know that this blog challenges me. Thank you for staying with me and still reading all that I have to write. Enjoy!

image

Ginger Chicken Shitake Mushroom Stirfry - not much to look at but great flavor

One Response to “Ginger Chicken Shitake Mushroom Stirfry”

  1. Anna Measures January 9, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    Looks Great, Teesa! So cooooool you’re bloggin again! 🙂
    It’s great to share your passions~ That chicken looks goooooood ❤
    om nom nom

Leave a Reply

