Rasberry Chocolate Pudding Cup-Bread Basket Cake Company

4 May

Today was the Sayonara potluck gathering to regrettably wish one of my coworkers good journey in her next endeavors and adventures. I will miss her stories of all her weekend escapes to concerts and food festivals. She always had something unique to share and always brought a wise approach with such youthful vibrancy to any conversation that I was consistently left in amazement of her. I wish her well in her travels.

I think travel is good for the soul! As well as travel, I would include food in things that are good for the soul! The potluck today had some great dishes, but the highlight for me came just as we were sitting down to eat. Our boss walked in and set this big white box down in front of us. It was clear that it had come from a bakery and then I realized that it was a Bread Basket box and I knew what she had bought.  I wish I could remember what she called these treats and I can not seem to find the name for them on their website. They need to be called something like “Nom in the Knees” or “My Rasberry Blackout”.

image

Pictured above is a Pudding Cup from the Bread Basket Cake Company of Camarillo, California. They are a fairly local bakery that make some of the most colorful treats I’ve seen in a long time.

Do not be fooled by all the  perfectly ripe raspberries on the top of each cup! This is not a light dessert. The whip cream is of the highest quality full-fat cream. The vanilla base pudding in the middle is copious amounts of decadency incarnate. If you manage to make it to the bottom of the cup, which is made from white and dark chocolate, a sweet chocolate pudding awaits. I think it might be a chocolate frosting because of the seriousness of the sugar texture. All it is very rich and easily shared, but I challenge you to eat one alone!

I saved mine and ate it later in the evening at home. I think my roommate may have known I was home from the “Dessert Aura” that shined from my insides out to the world.

On the flip side, I am planning to go walking tomorrow evening and for the next three weeks. Calorie overload, but I highly recommend them to anyone coming close or driving through the area. They are located right off the freeway and have very pleasant and agreeable staff! If anyone goes please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

