White wine reduction heaven!

16 Mar

My Grammy was the first one I can ever recall de-glazing a pan with wine. I kept thinking I might get in trouble if I were to eat it, not that I would have ate it anyway. I was a REALLY finicky eater when I was young. A lot has changed since then….

I have never been able to do a successful wine reduction. I had made attempts at putting them together from what I could remember of people cooking in front of me and some things that I had seen on TV. I was clearly missing some steps. They would taste acidic, too salty, the fat would separate. So I finally decided that I was going to work from the basic’s and go from a recipe word for word.

Well…almost.

Ina Garten’s recipe’s for roast chicken breast with a shallot wine reduction sauce.

I pan seared the chicken before putting in an oven at 400 degrees. The recipe called for boneless chicken and I only had bone in. I just adjusted the time and the heat a little to try to make up for the difference! I will have to use this method again when only having the sauce as an accompaniment to the dish as opposed to cooking the chicken with the sauce. The chicken was incredibly more juicy then I have ever had it in the past.

I am not sure if I can ever go back to boneless skinless!

Pan Seared Chix

The recipe said to reduce the wine and lemon juice until it looked like it was about 2 tablespoons worth of liquid. I had never tried to reduce it that much on my own. It was very helpful to me in sorting out when was the right time to start incorporating the cream ingredients.

White Wine reduction

It  was so tasty!!!!! I wanted to get engaged right then and there! I could not have been more happy with my sauce! the fat had not separated and it didn’t look gray and ugly like they might have in the past. If I had a better knife I would have tried to remove some of the breast meat for presentation, but alas, I am still working on that.

Roast chicken

Roast Chicken with Shallot Wine Reduction

It was a good day to be cooking. Sometimes it helps just to sit back and try to let a book take the reigns. I will most like work with some of my other books on sauces so that I can get some really good ones down. This one was delicious, but all that cream and butter made it a bit rich. I have only been able to peek in my new french cook book. It is going to take me a while to make my way through it.

3 Responses to “White wine reduction heaven!”

  1. Anna Measures March 17, 2011 at 4:52 am #

    I can tell you’re having fun ❤

    XO

  2. Deborah March 19, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    The chicken looks tasty. I might try this one day since I have been thinking of cooking with wine. I look forward to your sauce explorations in the future.

    • sotastyiwouldmarryit March 21, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Thanks Deborah. I would most definitely encourage you to try working with wine. It was such a taste adventure. It takes a little more time, but the results are fantastic. I would recommend using a wine that one of your family members like to drink. I know that you two don’t drink much, but I’ve read a lot that says if you like the taste of the wine drinking it, it will taste better in your food. Let me know if you need any recommendations. -T

Leave a Reply

