You have to treat yourself sometimes!

1 Mar

image

I had fun making lunch last night. I think it might be smelling up my office though. So I am going to close the lid and eat it outside where people won’t be bothered by it.
The star is a tofu hamburger patty. Its made, by taking a package of tofu and removing a large amount of the water from it and then mixing that with ground beef or pork (about 200g). I prefer pork because I think it brings a flavor element to food that beef never seems to have. I also usually add fresh ingredients like chopped onion, garlic, finely chopped carrots, chives, and ginger. I eyeball the amounts until I get the consistency that is easy to form. If you add to much the tofu/meat party will lose its shape when cooking.

After that is all incorporated, I add some seasoning. This hambagu is very simple, because I knew I was going to be putting curry on top for color. In the past I season with soy sauce, sesame oil, salt and pepper.

Simple, but sometimes simple is best.

On the rice, is Shiso furikake. It makes rice kind of purple. I was looking for a night sky with a taste that might work with the curry star patty. Shiso is tart and a bit salty.

Along with the few other things I had for lunch, I really enjoyed it. I’ll have to find a new shape to make lunch so I can do this again.

2 Responses to “You have to treat yourself sometimes!”

  1. Anna Measures March 2, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    Looks so Nummy! You’re an Foodie Artist, Tessa!

    XOXO

  2. Lizeth Martinez March 4, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    =O***

Leave a Reply

